« This Morning's Ride | Main | Paris - The Plan So Far »

The Number One Ladies' Detective Agency

No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency
On the flight out to Hawaii, I read only one book. I had time for two but after finishing the first one, decided to watch some TV and catch a cat nap. So the book I read was an old one done by my Book Club, but which I missed when they read it and you see, it was The Number 1 Ladies' Detective Agency. First off, I have to say, I can't see why a book club would read it? Well other than some interesting insight into life in Botswana, I can't see how this book would spark much discussion.

But do not get me wrong, I enjoyed this book! It wasn't what I expected (in that I expected more of one solid mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie, Donna Leon, Michael Dibdin), this was more vignettes a bunch of smaller mysteries, solved by Mma Ramotswe peppered with the back story of her life and how the agency came to be. By the way, if anyone can tell me what Mma stands for, I'd appreciate it.

So this was a quick read (I think I finished it before we hit the Rocky Mountains), and enjoyable and left me willing to go back and buy the next book in the series.

Share |

Other Thinks (2)

Hi Kim, Mma is like Ma'am, a title of respect that is usually used when addressing somebody. Rra is the male equivalent.

I've enjoyed the series. I appreciate the simplcity of the writing. Like you I was surprised that they were called 'mysteries' because I don't see them as mysteries. I did appreciate the quite style and the information about Botswana.

Post a Think

(If you haven't left a think here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your think will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)


This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on July 5, 2009 9:18 AM.

The previous post in this blog was This Morning's Ride.

The next post in this blog is Paris - The Plan So Far.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.

 Subscribe to This Blog

Recent Non-Travel Thinks

Powered by
Movable Type 3.33
© 2004 - 2014 Kim Riemann