> SlowTrav > Italy > Hotel Reviews > Umbria

Assisi: Alla Madonna Del Piatto

Via Petrata 37, Pieve San Nicolo’, Phone: 075.81.99.050
www.incampagna.com

Reviewed by: Pokey from MA, review #3069

When: May 2011

After years of dreaming, I finally met Letizia and stayed in her ever-so-fabulous B&B.

View from Alla Madonna Del Piatto, photo by Pokey

Do you have high blood pressure or are you under a lot of stress? Well, after just a few minutes with a glass of wine and the view from the terrace, all your troubles will vanish!

I loved every minute of my stay at Letizia's B&B. She is a sweetheart! The first night I shared a triple with my traveling companions but then moved into my own room for the next three magical nights. The view of Assisi during the day is breath-taking....the view at night spectacular! The beauty and peacefulness of the Basilica of St. Frances and Rocca Maggiore lit up at night in the distance is a memory I will never forget.

My room had two twin beds and the bed I slept in was very comfortable. Letizia has the best blankets!! It got cool at night and they kept me feeling warm and cozy. Loved the bathroom; great water pressure and hot water or cold as needed.

Breakfasts were delicious. COFFEE!!! Ready to be enjoyed and plenty of freshly baked bread, jams,& honey. Cereal with yogurt or milk. A "common" refrigerator for her guests to put picnic supplies and keep water and wine cold!

You can get WiFi in the breakfast/common room. I used my IPodTouch and also guests with laptops were able to log in. Letizia was happy to share a laptop she has in case anyone needed it for anything!

Letizia and her husband are very thoughtful and willing to help in any way they can. She has plenty of maps, guidebooks of surrounding towns and restaurant recommendations.

You definitely need a car to get to the B&B as it's up a windy road...but once you arrive and behold that view, well, everything is perfectly perfect!!

I HIGHLY recommend this B&B!!!


Reviewed by: sandrac from Canada, review #2888

When: June 2010

Delightful cooking classes, wonderful B+B!

Three times in recent years, I had taken Letizia’s engaging cooking classes at her agriturismo Alla Madonna del Piatto, located in the hills above Assisi.

And three times, as I relaxed after class on one of her beautiful terraces, savouring the scenery, I had asked myself why was I staying in town instead of booking a room at her B+B?

So in June, I did just that. I thoroughly enjoyed my fourth cooking class with Letizia as well as several nights’ stay in her delightful B+B. My friend Philippe also took a room, and I had some difficulty convincing him to leave at the end of our time there.

There are so many things that we both loved about Alla Madonna del Piatto, that it’s difficult to know which to mention first ...

The six rooms are wonderfully clean, simply decorated with lovely antiques, extremely comfortable beds, good bedside reading lights and – best of all, for me – the rooms are delightfully cool. Even when the afternoon sun was scorching hot (I got a sunburn one day sitting on the terrace) my bedroom remained a cool haven. With the windows open at night, I could literally see the moon and the stars above the Basilica of San Francesco only a few kilometres away on the next hilltop.

The hospitality was wonderful. Letizia and her husband Ruurd are perfect hosts. Over breakfast, they’re ready to offer any help that guests might request, from suggestions for dining spots to maps for day trips by car to hikes in the hills all around, and even solving problems with rental car agencies (as some fellow guests experienced.) Yet, they are also discreet and don’t impose themselves or their opinions on guests.

And, of course, Letizia’s cooking classes. I’ve come to love these for a number of different reasons. Letizia is a very patient teacher (even with klutzy cooks, like me) and she focuses on recipes that are quite traditional, simple, with a limited number of ingredients. Her practical tips really make a huge difference in preparing her dishes. Her lasagne recipe, for example, has become a favourite among my friends – not because it’s complicated or has a secret ingredient, but because she has given me a few simple tips that make all the difference. This, you won’t find in a cookbook!

The classes are also very hands-on and a lot of fun. Yet, I also return to Letizia’s class for a refresher on the great rewards of understanding what makes for really great food products – from what to look for in tinned tomatoes, to the virtues (and qualities) of excellent olive oil. Letizia has a genuine love of food and an appreciation of the traditions of Umbrian cooking in particular, and she has a knack for inspiring the same in others.

Hmmmm, I wonder what we’ll be cooking next year?


Reviewed by: Hallie from ME, review #2396

When: September 2008

This is a beautiful, charming, clean, traditionally decorated 6 room B&B that is in the mountains with a spectacular view of Assisi and surrounding mountains.

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights late September. It was a quiet and serene haven set in the Umbrian hills with spectacular views of the town of Assisi and the valley of grazing animals and agriculture.

The owners, Letizia and her husband Ruurd are welcoming, responsive, warm, caring and friendly. We were warmly greeted by "Letizia" who is Italian and grew up in the Umbria region. Ruurd is from the Netherlands. She and her husband speak fluent English. Their website gives a history of how they came to own this B&B.

In addition to a lovely breakfast served each morning (included in the price of the room), they provide with great enthusiasm and readiness many different kinds of touring advice (and alot of written material and maps to borrow) to satisfy a multitude of interests such as the Italian pottery, Italian crafts, wine, food, history, Basilicas, etc. Guests may also use their fridge and microwave plus dishes, flatware, etc. to keep personal food.

There are two outside areas to enjoy the spectacular views of the Umbrian hills and more specifically the medieval town of Assisi.

The B&B has been redone with antiques and beatiful decor while maintaining the character of the building. The rooms are very private, spacious, comfortable, charming and extremely clean. It is a 6-room centuries old farmhouse and it was 85 euros per night/room. See the website for more details and photos of the rooms and the rest of the B&B.

Letizia teaches an Italian cooking class in English for her guests at an additional cost that has a world renowned reputation and considered one of Italy's top cooking classes. (See "Testimonials" of website for more details). Unfortunately, the class was booked up when we got there so remember to sign up for it when you reserve a room. People rave about this class and some said it was the highlight of their stay.

Our stay at Alla Madonna del Piatto and the owners made our visit in Umbria extra special. I don't have anything negative to write about because it met all of our needs. It is a great base for seeing the region of Umbria and Tuscany. I wholeheartedly without any bit of hesitation recommend Alla Madonna del Piatto as a place to stay in Umbria!!


Reviewed by: Anna D from Switzerland, review #2162

When: 2007

After a beautiful trip from Ovieto we arrived -- to a spectacular view of Assisi.

Sunset in Alla Madonna del Piatto, photo by Anna Dutton

We arrived as the sun was decending the beautiful Umbrian hills ... the view towards Assisi was like a dream.

When we entered the old nicely renovated farm house we felt at home. Large, warm colourful rooms, all with a window viewing Assisi.

We could have spent more days with Letiza, Ruurd and Tea since there are many towns and villages to visit from this B&B, however we were short of time but we will return very soon.

It is a perfect place for long or short stays. Clean, confortable, quiet, easy to reach with a car and close to many interesting places which can be visited as day trips.


Reviewed by: jspreitzer from IL, review #2123

When: November 2007

Wonderful B&B on a beautiful hill outside Assisi - and, even better, Letizia and Ruurd, the owners, will direct you to the best restaurants in Umbria.

Google the Truffle Dog at alla Madonna del Piatto, photo by

Our stay here was wonderful - in large part due to the very friendly and helpful English-speaking owners Letizia and Ruurd. They give great advice about visiting the towns and cities of Umbria and, in particular, make excellent restaurant recommendations. We ate two of the best meals of our entire trip at restaurants we never would have known about without their input: Il Bacco Felice in Foligno and L'Officina in Perugia.

Letizia herself offers Italian cooking classes at the agriturismo: we didn't have time to take one, but definitely will next time we stay there. Her breakfasts were simple but wonderful. Our room was comfortable, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean - with a great view of the countryside and a very pleasant private bathroom.

The rooms aren't really set up to accommodate much more than sleeping but there's a book-filled "living room" section of the large common dining room with fireplace that's very nice to spend time in during cold weather (as it was when we stayed there) and two lovely, outdoor terraced areas with seating for when the weather is good.

The location outside Assisi feels remote but only takes about 15 minutes to get to by car. We highly recommend Agriturismo alla Madonna del Piatto!


Reviewed by: David F S from UK, review #2014

When: June 2007

The location and facilities make for a superb experience in an immaculate farmhouse with a view to die for.

The location for Alla Madonna del Piatto is stunning, with the city of Assisi and the church of St Francis floating in the valley below. The road to Letizia's immaculate converted farm house is best taken in a car with forgiving suspension, but the trip is worth it. We shared one of Letizia's cooking session with 4 Americans, splitting the preparation of the 3 courses ,after our trip into St Angelo to study the local Olive Oils, cheeses, cold meats and pasta. Letizia is a superb teacher and we all enjoyed the great fun of preparing the late lunch and devouring it on the terrace with a view of Assisi to die for. Letizia gave us copies of the cooking intsructions to take home, where we have tried to emulate the food, ( not quite) but not the view, the company or the fun alas.

The rooms are tastefully decorated in cool colours, which complemented the wrought iron bed heads. New modern en-suite facilities are of course standard. The buffet Breakfast is served in a large room on the middle floor, there is an excellent restaurant less than a mile away along the track, and the city of Assisi only 15 minutes from door to car park. It is a great place to be, don't miss it !


Reviewed by: Cracker from FL, review #1930

When: May 2007

A stay in this delightful rural retreat will be one of the highlights of your trip. Don't miss Letizia's cooking class either; it is both fun and delicious.

Alla Madonna Del Piatto was our first experience with an agriturismo and it could not have been more enjoyable. The house itself is ancient, warm, bright and inviting. The views could not be more beautiful. Umbria is gorgeous and Assisi a delight, but perhaps the best thing about this B&B is its owner - Letizia is a wonderful, intelligent, energetic, and giving person who makes you feel instantly at home.

Letizia met us on our arrival and immediately showered us with her warm hospitality. After showing us to our rooms which had incredible views across the valley to Assisi, she left us to unpack. Just as we were unzipping the suitcases we heard a commotion in front of the house, rushing to the hallway we peered out of the window just in time to see a farmer and his dog driving sheep down the narrow country lane. What a welcome!

Letizia suggested that we might want to relax with a glass of wine in the shade of her grape arbor and enjoy the wonderful view. We lazed away the afternoon in her comfy sling chairs drinking wine and watching the farmer herd his goats through the valley below. In the evening we enjoyed a lovely dinner at the Castello di Petrata just a mile or so up the road.

The rooms were attractive and spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. Letizia is the perfect hostess; she is a delight to spend time with and is endlessly helpful in making plans for the day or reservations for dinner.

The aroma of freshly baked bread invited us into the breakfast room each morning. The breakfasts were simple and delicious. Fresh bread topped with Letizia’s own homemade jams, and yogurt and cereals that were plentiful and yummy.

The four of us joined two other couples who were also staying in the house for Letizia’s cooking class. We enjoyed it immensely; after shopping for and cooking a wonderful meal we moved out to the picturesque stone patio and enjoyed our feast accompanied by good Umbrian wines.

I highly recommend a stay at Alla Madonna Del Piatto; it added a rural and delightful dimension to our trip. It is very convenient for visiting Assisi and the surrounding area. If you go, don't miss the the cooking class.


Reviewed by: Mark W from TN, review #1666

When: September 2006

A fantastic agriturismo in a picturesque setting on a hill overlooking Assisi. An amazing hostess, an ideal location and a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere.

Wow! What a find. We were looking for place near Assisi as a staging point for a 4 day tour of northern and central Umbria, and boy did we find a gem. Alla Madonna del Piatto is a little slice of paradise in the hills above Assisi. The setting is beautiful, the house is warm and inviting, the location is ideal for exploring the region, and the owner (Letizia Mattiaci) is both charming and incredibly knowledgeable.

You arrive at the home after a relatively short drive up a hill beginning on the outskirts of Assisi. The rooms are simple and bright, and many have astonishing views of the Umbrian countryside. Ours looked directly at the town of Assisi, where we awoke every morning to the sight of the Basilica di San Francesco perched on a cliff at the western end of the city. Breakfast is a communal affair, where the guests mingle in the common room and compare itineraries and travel notes, often consulting with Letizia over the plans for the day.

Letizia is amazing. In addition to being a veritable treasure trove of valuable information about the area, she has a warm and engaging personality and makes each guest feel like they are a part of her extended family.

Make sure you take advantage of the outdoor spaces that surround the home. The view from the back of the house is beautiful and bucolic, and you can sit for hours watching the sheep graze in the fields. The chairs sit underneath a large grape arbor, and we snacked on grapes and figs from adjacent trees while we took in the sights, sounds and smells of the Umbrian countryside. The stone patio on the side of the house is equally nice, and is the perfect spot for an afternoon glass of wine.

On the evening we arrived, Letizia recommended that we visit the Trattoria dal Cacciatore, a nearby eatery specializing in local Umbrian cuisine. The menu is peppered with truffle dishes, and although we were only eating the most pedestrian version of this gastronomic delight (tartufo estivi, the summer truffle), each was delicious (we went back for a second meal, and sampled almost all of the truffle dishes, so trust us). Try the antipasto sampler as well. You won't be disappointed. Finally, splurge a little and order a bottle from the wine list, rather than the house wine. They have an impressive selection of Umbrian wines, and the prices are very reasonable. Overall, this was a delightful introduction to the foods of Umbria.

Sticking to the food theme, we highly recommend taking one of Letizia's cooking classes. The class does a wonderful job of integrating the three central aspects of Umbrian (and much of Italian) food: the selection of the best ingredients, the preparation of the food, and the conviviality that characterizes a typical meal. We first traveled into the town of Santa Maria degli Angeli, where we visited Terra Umbra, a small and extremely well stocked food store specializing in local specialties of the region. Letizia provides an introduction to many of the staples of the Umbrian plate: cheese and meats for the antipasti, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and various truffle preparations. The best part of the visit is that you get to take home your favorites to serve as part of the meal's antipasto plate. Once back at home, you get started in the kitchen, with ample wine to stoke the imagination and the careful hand of Letizia guiding you through each step in the process. On our visit, we made several different types of pasta and a traditional torte, with everyone taking a part in the preparations and having a grand time. The group then moves to the common room, where Letizia serves the fruits of your labors. Whereas at home the cooking process seems to diminish a bit one's enjoyment of the meal, here it was the exact opposite! We ummed and aahed until we could barely get up from the table. Of course, Letizia came to the rescue with several choices of digestivi, and we proceeded to make plans for dinner in Assisi that evening!

The home is ideally situated for visiting many of the sites of the central Umbrian region. The town of Gubbio is a relatively short (30 minutes) drive away, and is a mecca for those interested in traditional Umbrian pottery. Take in the commanding views of the town and the surrounding countryside as you ride the funiculare (cable car - well, more like a primitive ski lift) up Mount Ingino to the Basilica di San Ubaldo, where you can see the remarkably well preserved remains of the eponymous saint. A short drive from Assisi are the quaint towns of Spello, Foligno, Montefalco and Bevagna, and if you don't linger (easier said than done) you can easily visit several of these in a single day. Although skeptical about a visit to Perugia, the largest city in Umbria, we found the city delightfully easy to navigate after consulting with Letizia about our parking options.

Finally, make sure you visit Assisi in both the day and the night. Although certainly a worthwhile visit during the day, as evening falls and the buses descend Mount Subasio, the town takes on a very different and seemingly mystical character that makes the presence of Saint Francis almost tangible. Letizia has written a wonderful piece on Assisi (complete with map) that serves as an informative and practical guide to the city. Make sure you ask her for a copy before you go.


Reviewed by: Ray from way out west from Canada, review #1508

When: May 2006

There is no one more vibrant, warm, welcoming or knowledgable than Letizia. Her Cooking Classes are a huge hit as is her rustic and comfortable B&B.

Our room was only 500 years old; after all, the building started out 700 years ago as a shepherds' outpost. This particular ground floor room has an elegant, characterful simplicity with its ancient window, stone floors, dark wood beams, and freshly tiled bathroom. In the heat of summer this is the room to have with its comfortable coolness.

We also stayed in an upstairs room. If the room cost €80, the view was worth €8,000,000. Every room has this view out over the valley with its copses of trees, patched collection of different coloured fields, rustic houses, and Assisi across the valley sitting there on a hilltop in the sun.

Letizia and Ruurd have done many renovations since they bought this wonderful house. The result is an eye catching Italian country B&B. Was the highlight of our five and a half weeks seeing the Roman Forum? The Eiffel Tower perhaps, or the Duomo in Florence? No, none of these. The highlight was staying in the Alla Madonna del Piatto. It may sound strange that a B&B was the best thing on a trip, but Letizia is such a naturally warm, welcoming person who provides such an appealing accommodation that everyone staying there immediately relaxes, loves coming back in the evening, and talking with the other guests.

The breakfast room, a large space with its incredible collection of Moroccan tables and other items collected from the owners' years travelling while etymologists (I think that's right) is where the informal cocktail party atmosphere really comes into its own. This is not the "We're all friends for life and we're obligated to intrude on everyone else's privacy," sort of thing. It's a relaxed, organic kind of chat or don't chat, whichever is preferred, atmosphere that all starts with Letizia's warm greeting.

By the way, Letizia's partner stays in the background, but if you get a chance to talk with him, take it. It's always worth it. He is a most intelligent, interesting, gentle, and humorous person.

Breakfast is important to note. Letizia provides homemade bread and jam, and real coffee, the best coffee we had in any of the many places we stayed on this trip. There is also cereal, yogurt, and juice. It's good for the soul to start the day in such a warm, friendly atmosphere with such delicious food and coffee.

COOKING CLASSES: We made a mistake here and didn't take Letizia's cooking class. People raved about what they learned about Italian food and cooking -- the classes start with a trip to a food store, a store we went to numerous times and loved the place, continue with hands on in the kitchen, and conclude with eating the food made, having a glass of wine (it may have been more than one since everyone looked so relaxed and happy when we returned at the end of the day when they were still on the terrace carrying on), and chatting away. Letizia has this effect on people. Even the most reticent relax and enjoy talking to others at this B&B. I can't stress this enough.

I'm very outgoing and love talking to other travellers to discover their experiences and advice, but in some places the atmosphere is stiff and inhibiting. Not here. No one feels compelled to talk to anyone else, but the feel is right to do so.

Letizia is a source of deep knowledge about shops, restaurants, and almost anything one can think of around the area. She gave us some fantastic tips that provided some of our most cherished memories on the trip. And no, I won't tell you what the tips were. Go and stay there so Letizia can tell you herself. As a teaser though, let me say that we are drinking coffee, as I write this, from two of the most gorgeous ceramic mugs imaginable. We would not have found those mugs without Letizia's advice.

The Alla Madonna is just outside Assisi, and well placed for visiting other towns such as Gubbio, Cortona, Montefalco, Bevagna and a host of others.

Stay here if you can!


Reviewed by: Susan H from USA, review #1442

When: June 2005

Alla Madonna del Piatto is a marvelous place in the hills overlooking Assisi.

This B&B that was once a home to shepherds is now a haven for travelers who want to partake of the wonderful views of Assisi from the hills above the town.

The Italian/Dutch owners have restored Alla Madonna del Piatto in authenic Italian style. The surroundings are a feast for the eyes ... especially at night when the twinkling lights of Assisi can be viewed from the outside terraces or from the bedrooms. I remember how wonderful it was to stand at my bedroom window and watch a special night of fireworks in Assisi.

Letizia, the owner, was wonderful about giving suggestions for day trips and restaurants. She is responsible for sending me to Spoleto for one of my favorite meals of my three week trip to Umbria and Tuscany. I say one of my favorite meals because the ultimate meal was the one I (along with other guests) prepared under her expert supervision. We bought the ingredients for our meal as we sampled local cheeses, meats, and other items at a nearby shop. It was fun preparing the pasta, the sauce, and the dessert. The best part of it all was eating our food outside on the patio.

Even though a car is absolutely necessary to make it to Alla Madonna del Piatto, it is well worth the effort.


Reviewed by: Honeymooners from USA, review #1309

When: mid-October

Great place for anyone who wants to relax a little in Italy. Letizia and her family make you feel so at home and you see Italy from a different perspective!

The B & B was amazing.

Such clean and large rooms with lovely private bathrooms as well (complete with heated floors!).

Letizia and her family are equally as wonderful; always giving helpful hints and suggestions when asked. The view from your room is of the mountain and St. Francis basilica. It feels as though St. Francis might just walk down the unpaved road to Letizia's B&B!

I highly recommend the cooking classes--we can now make homemade pasta! The rate is very reasonable and you will enjoy your time here immensely. I cannot imagine a more enjoyable week in Italy!


Reviewed by: Dede & Ken from ME, review #961

When: May 2005

After 5 visits, we'll keep returning to alla Madonna, as we've become very attached to Letizia & Ruurd's lovely, peaceful place, across a valley toward Assisi.


Reviewed by: Karsten from Germany, review #915

When: September 2004

Agriturismo Alla Madonna del Piatto - great destination for relaxing, hiking and biking as well as exploring Umbria's nature and culture.

Cyclamen in the Assisi surrounds ... pink beauties at the wayside, photo by Karsten Mody

On our bicycle tour through Tuscany and Umbria, we stayed in many different places like small hotels, agriturismi or alberghi. Most were lovely and recommended by the “Lonely Planet” guidebook, but by far the most beautiful and recommendable place was the agriturismo “Alla Madonna del Piatto.” Run by Letizia Mattiacci and her husband Ruurd, and situated in the hills across Assisi with a beautiful view over the town.

After an exhausting (but highly enjoyable) ascent, we were rewarded by Letizia’s warm welcome with fresh figs picked from the garden tree, and a beautiful room with a spectacular view over Assisi.

For the next three days, we enjoyed Letizia’s excellent dinners, explored the surrounding landscape and Assisi by hiking and biking - often inspired by Letizia’s information, explanations or recommendations about where to go – or just relaxed with a good book and enjoyed the silence and environment.

Conclusion: Agriturismo Alla Madonna del Piatto - a highly recommendable place!


Reviewed by: Italy Girl from CA, review #768

When: October 2003

We recently spent 7 nights here and had a wonderful time! This charming countryside B&B will always hold a special place in our hearts.

Alla Madonna Del Piatto was just the place we were looking for. We stayed for 7 nights (€70/night which included breakfast, taxes, parking). The bedrooms were comfortable and were decorated with a rustic charm; exactly the way you'd envision a country side B&B. The bathrooms were clean and modern. Breakfast was included and consisted of coffee, juice, cereal, yogurt, bread and the best homemade jams around!

The highlight of our trip was taking a cooking class with one of the owners, Letizia. The class started with a trip to a local specialty store where we learned about various meats, cheeses, wine and food items. After purchasing some items, we went back to Letizia's kitchen for the class where we made homemade stuffed ravioli and a lemon/orange crostatta for dessert. Letizia gave us print outs of the recipes and we can't wait to try them at home.

We also received help from Letizia and her husband Ruurd in planning day trips to nearby towns. We took day trips to Perugia, Orvieto, Rieti, Norcia, etc. and of course Assisi - which is about a 10 minute drive on a country road. Nearby restaurants Il Maniero and La Fortezza (in Assisi; 4 course dinner €21.50/person) were excellent!

In conclusion, if you're looking for a resort style get away where you can walk to town, complete with room service, in-room television and phone, etc., this is probably not for you. However, if you are looking for a wonderful, peaceful countryside B&B with glorious views, comfortable accommodations, easy access to several Umbrian towns, and warm and gracious owners, this place is a must!


Reviewed by: Christine from GA, review #713

When: 2004

Beautifully restored country house, furnished with antiques, private baths, and incredible views. Enjoy homemade Italian food in an authentic setting!

For €75/night we stayed in the most quaint, comfortable country house overlooking Assisi. Every detail of the house has been carefully restored to preserve the home's integrity while ensuring the utmost comfort for guests. The rooms are spotless and the bathrooms provide all modern amenities.

Best of all, the continental breakfast is a healthy offering of homemade bread and jam, yogurt, honey, strong Italian coffee, juice, cereal and, if you're lucky - fresh figs!

Anyone interested in learning more about Italian food should investigate the on-site cooking class. It was the most well-spent money I parted with during my entire vacation.


Reviewed by: Jamie from MI, review #712

When: April, 2004

A beautiful view, attractive rooms, wonderful owners make this agriturismo a real find and a pleasure to visit.

The rooms were all newly renovated in the Italian farmhouse style and we were very pleased with the location and nearness to Assisi. The view over the mountains was stunning and the breakfast was wonderful.

Additional work was being completed so that a patio with the beautiful view should be available by now. I highly recommend the place. We also became quite fond of the young owners, Letizia and Ruurd, who helped me with a broken crutch and saved the rest of my vacation!


Reviewed by: Catherine Purzycki from USA, review #664

When: June 2004

The MOST BEAUTIFUL place in Umbria.

View of Alla Madonna del Piatto, photo by Kate

Alla Madonna del Piatto was perfect for my family and me. My husband and our three children (ages 25,18,13) had lovely rooms which were part of the original structure of the building (a 500 year old stable).

Letizia and her husband Ruurd are the owners of this lovely farmhouse. They have completely refurbished their home and the rooms that we occupied were very comfortable. Each had a beautiful private bath as well. The views from our rooms were breathtaking.

One morning after our homemade breakfast (the coffee, breads and jams were fabulous), we all sat under the pergola and watched a farmer herd his sheep through the countryside below. The distant tinkling of the sheep's bells was positively hypnotic. One mile down the road was a beautiful pool that our family used that afternoon for a small fee. We all agree that our stay at Letizia and Rauud's farmhouse was definitely one of the highlights of our two week trip to Italy. We are still talking about Letizia's jams!

I highly recommend Alla Madonna del Piatto to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy the magnificent views of the Umbrian countryside.


Reviewed by: Kay from USA, review #531

When: March 2004

This agriturismo is THE perfect place to stay! The highlight of our recent trip to Italy. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Our lovely room was in a restored 500 yr. old former stable, refurbished with modern amenities, yet retaining a rustic charming feel. It sits high in the hills above Assisi. SPECTACULAR view. By car, rather easy to get to from actual city below. Only a 10 minute or so ride to this great agriturismo. Easy day trips exploring Umbria, then returning to this oasis of peace and quiet. Once there, you're surrounded by quietude and nature sounds. Nearby there's a farm with a herd of sheep, and as you walk down the nearby road, you see the farmer and his dogs herding then, and you hear the tinkle of bells on their necks, and an occasional moo in the background. The owners Letizia (Italian) and her husband Ruurd (Dutch)are fluent in English. Their adorable toddler was often available for play times, but you definitely have all the privacy you wish. What a gem this is!!!!!


Reviewed by: Joanne from AZ, review #521

When: October 2003

Staying in this Bed and Breakfast was incredible. The service was excellant as well as the couple that owns it, and it was an experience I will never forget!

The couple that owns the hotel are very warm and friendly, and any information about the town of Assisi, restaurants, or information about other towns nearby, they will gladly help you with.

My husband and I took cooking classes with Letizia. We had so much fun with her and we cooked an excellent recipe.

The B & B was exceptionally clean and quiet, the rooms very spacious, and where it was situated - you couldn't have asked for a more beautiful area. The price of the room was more than fair. Not expensive at all!! I would return there in a heartbeat!


Reviewed by: Judy from MA and CO, review #520

When: September 2003

Unsurpassed views, cozy accomodations, wonderful homecooked meals and informative, warm and friendly hosts. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated rooms with gorgeous views. Gourmet breakfasts and dinners prepared by the hostess. Hosts were lovely and friendly and interested in making our stay special by offering tips on places to visit and things to do.

I'd give it 4 stars and would return in a heartbeat, in fact my sister and brother in law have returned 3 times since we were there with them! We are SO jealous. I would definitely recommend it to all who have the opportunity to visit Umbria as it is convenient to Assisi, Gubbio, Orvieto, Perugia, and the Chianti region.......a must see. We truly loved it.


Reviewed by: Claudio from Brazil, review #518

When: March 2004

Comfort, warmth and beauty: an unforgettable experience in Assisi.

Three great benefits to being lodged in an "agriturismo" B&B are the quietness of the place, the beauty of the surrounding landscape, and the simplicity of the ambience. This is what one expects when makes such a choice.

However, when you also find an extremely kind, friendly and cultivated owner, when you are given marvelous tips about places to visit, when you face a perfect mix between professionalism and informality, simplicity and elegance, when you really feel at home, then all your expectations are exceeded.

That's exactly what you find when you are in Alla Madonna del Piatto and talk to Letizia, its owner. My wife and I were extremely pleased with our three-day stay at unforgettable Alla Madonna... We will certainly return there the next time we travel to Umbria.

This review is the opinion of a Slow Travel member and not of slowtrav.com.

Back to Top

Car Rental Hotel Booking Flight Booking Train Tickets Books, Maps, Events
Europe Cell Phones Long Distance Cards Luggage, etc. Travel Insurance Classifieds

* Advertise on Slow Travel | Post your travel questions on the Slow Travel Forums

Copyright © 2000 - 2014 SlowTrav.com, unless noted otherwise. Slow Travel® is a registered trademark. Contact Slow Travel

RSS Feeds - Link to Us - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Currency Converter - Colophon - Sponsors - Become a Member
Home | Forums | Slow Travel? | Europe Trip Planning | Photos | Trip Reports | Search | About Us | Classifieds