> SlowTrav > Italy > Hotel Reviews > Florence

Duomo: B&B Dei Mori

Via Dante Alighieri 12, Phone: 055.21.14.38
www.Deimori.com

Reviewed by: Rick D from CA, review #3229

When: July 2012

An Oasis in the middle of Florence close to the Duomo and near major sights. Good value. Great hospitality.

The Dei Mori B&B was the perfect place for my wife and me to stay because it is located in the heart of Florence just a few blocks from the Duomo, but mostly because of the kindness and attention shown to us by Danny and Peter.

Danny started us off with homemade bread and a great review of a map of Florence where he marked many great places for sightseeing, meals, laundry and most importantly great gelato to survive the heat of July. When I lost my train tickets, Danny helped research bus/train lost and found. Peter took over from Danny for the rest of our stay and made sure all our needs were taken care of.

The room was spacious with a small attached bathroom and much appreciated air conditioning along with WiFi. We really enjoyed the charm of the living room and the small balcony for breakfast. Mostly we enjoyed talking to Danny and Peter about life, how the B&B got started and anything else that came to mind. I have stayed in many hotels and B&B's, but the gracious way we were treated at Dei Mori will remain in our memory for many years.

I will STRONGLY suggest that any of our friends and family stay their if they are ever fortunate enough to be in Florence.


Reviewed by: LPB from MN, review #3215

When: June 2012

Dei Mori - a quiet, quaint home away from home!

Quiet terrace at Dei Mori to enjoy morning cappuccino or sip a glass of wine in the evening!, photo by Lee Baker

We were thrilled with our stay at Dei Mori. Danny was incredibly helpful in providing us with recommendations for restaurants, walking tours, and tips for what to see when - even before we ever arrived. And as soon as we did arrive, Danny greeted us warmly and made us feel right at home.

Danny serves a wonderful breakfast with homemade breads, yummy jams, yogurt, fruits, juices, and the best coffee ever! And after a busy day of sightseeing, coming home to Dei Mori is like returning to a quiet haven, where we found red wine, sparkling wine, and an assortment of snacks waiting for us each afternoon in the living room, classical music playing, and fresh flowers adorning the tables.

Not only was Danny warm, gracious and hospitable, but we were particularly appreciative of his humor, knowledge of Italian art and history, and willingness to share in conversation about trends, culture, and current events in Italy. It's obvious that Danny has a passion for offering a high quality B&B experience for all his guests and giving them a place to call home while visiting Florence. We'll be back!!! Ciao...


Reviewed by: Mike Cooper from Canada, review #3209

When: May 2012

Perfect location and memorable service!

Central location, spotless rooms, comfortable seating area as well as excellent hosts who go out of their way to provide helpful advice and recommendations.

I could not imagine enjoying Florence half as much without having had the sage advice from Peter!


Reviewed by: John Hillman from IL, review #3208

When: May 2012

A wonderful, intimate B&B. Dani is charming. He helps with restaurant suggestions. Breakfasts include homemade bread. Complimentary chilled Prosecco or red wine.

What a wonderful intimate (5-bedroom) place to stay in a perfect location in the heart of historic Florence.

Dani makes you feel as if he has all day just to be with you--to answer any questions you have, to provide you with restaurant suggestions with thorough information, or to chat about a variety of subjects.

Breakfasts were simple and satisfying, including freshly baked, homemade bread each day. What a welcome surprise to return to Dei Mori at the end of a day of sightseeing and to find complimentary chilled Proseco or red wine set out for us! Calming, quiet classical music played continually in the parlor, and chairs and tables were available to sit in the sun on the modest-sized balcony.

We spent five memorable days at Dei Mori and will return (we both touched the nose of the bronze wild boar in the Piazza de Republica)! We paid E625 for a five-night stay.


Reviewed by: Nigel Brook from UK, review #3199

When: April 2012

Excellent B&B in the heart of Florence

I've now stayed at this B&B three times in the last couple of years. The first two occasions were when I ran the Florence Marathon, and last week I brought the family for a long weekend.

The location is great - a couple of minutes' walk to the Duomo, perhaps three minutes to the Uffizi. It's on the second floor of an 18th century building. The sitting area is comfortable and inviting and there is a small balcony overlooking a central courtyard.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are on the small side but very comfortable and well decorated, and quiet (most vehicles are banned from these central streets, which are more like alleys).

We've met Peter and Danny and they can't do enough to help, with restaurant recommendations, bookings for museums, you name it. Daisy the Westie is a pleasant addition!

This is our automatic choice for Florence.


Reviewed by: TinaD from CA, review #3197

When: April 2012

Why would you stay anywhere else?

Dei Mori may be perfect in every way. It has an incredible location with easy access to everything you would want to do, yet somehow manages to be quiet and restful.

Danny and Peter were the most accommodating of hosts providing unobtrusive hospitality with restaurant and touring tips that go beyond what even the best tour books can do. I will recommend this B&B to everyone I know and would not consider staying anywhere else when we return to Florence.


Reviewed by: rrvidas from Australia, review #2635

When: April 2009

A superb and practical B&B in the absolute heart of Florence, staffed by knowledgeable and friendly people who ensure you have a fantastic stay.

Dei Mori is a superb and practical B&B located two blocks north of the Piazza della Signoria, Palazzo Vecchio and Uffizi; three blocks south of the Duomo; and literally around the corner from where Dante lived and first saw his beloved Beatrice!

Suzanne and Peter are wonderful hosts who provide a wealth of information on transport, recommendations, reservations etc. Rooms are a little compact but comfortable; remember, it’s a B&B. (I’d forgotten there’d be no cable TV!)

They provide a lovely continental breakfast, which you can enjoy on the little balcony or while checking out the eighteenth century ceiling fresco in the main room! Quiet and secluded, it’s perfect for staying in the heart of the city without the hoopla of tourist paraphernalia.

Just one drawback: there’s no lift, so you’ll have to carry your luggage up the two flights of stairs – which is a very minor sacrifice for such a great place!


Reviewed by: AlanP from IL, review #2554

When: March 2009

This is a perfect guesthouse to stay in at the heart of Florence. Perfect location! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

I am very reluctant to give the excellent review Dei Mori deserves. Reason being is I don’t want this gem in the heart of Florence to be overcome with undeserving tourists.

I was recommended Dei Mori in 2004 from some friends and have returned every year since. Every time I return it’s like coming home again. I travel sometimes with family or alone and every time it always feels like home.

The common area is very comfortable and relaxing as are the individual rooms. If you are used to the Hyatt or The Four Seasons, then do us all a favor and go there. Dei Mori deserves clientele respectful of the quiet ambiance and culture it exudes.

Also, if you’re a group of loud, drinking tourists, please go elsewhere. I believe the only complaints Dei Mori has received are when there have been loud, unruly guests who are not even welcome in the nearby restaurants. I fortunately have always met very friendly travelers also interested in chatting about where they are going that day, or where they’ve been.

Getting back to the actual property, it is very comfortable and quiet. The continental breakfast is just enough to get you started and out the door while the staff is extremely helpful with what to do in Florence, (however, if you’re in Florence, by now you should already have done your homework), museum reservations or train schedules, etc.

They also have wifi in the rooms. On my most recent trip, I spent three nights in Rome, one night in Orvieto, and it wasn’t until I arrived to Dei Mori that I had my first good long afternoon nap and good night slept later that night. Maybe it was the feather pillows.

Again, please only go to Dei Mori if you have the appreciation for such a classy, well appointed and culturally stimulating property. Suzanne, Danny and Peter are also the reason I return (especially SuzanneJ)!


Reviewed by: Kprof from TX, review #2547

When: March 2009

Home Away from Home in Florence.

Lovely little Bed and Breakfast (120Euro/night; double w/shower; discount w/Rick Steves book). EXTREMELY warm and helpful owners. Went out of their way to make us (Mom traveling w/adult son) feel welcome. Pointed out areas of interest, shopping, restaurants that fit our budget. Perfect location in heart of Florence. Highly recommend. deimori@bnb.it


Reviewed by: grangehill from UK, review #2382

When: September 2008

An excellent b & b right in the centre of Florence.

The location is great. Right in the centre. The hosts are welcoming and full of interesting information on where to eat and go. There is a good atmosphere, no TV in the room is a bonus. There is also a lounge area where you can breakfast and mix with the other guests.


Reviewed by: Mike&Deb East Pete from USA, review #2287

When: June 2008

Beautiful accommodations, friendly, helpful staff. Like having a home in Florence.

We stumbled upon these "sister" B&B's (La Badia and Dei Mori) in 2003 and returned in 2006 and 2008. La Badia is on the 1st floor, only 27 steps up from the street. (No lift/elevator). Dei mori is 15 steps higher. Rooms are clean; tastefully decorated. Breakfast is juice, tea or strong coffee, a fresh cake, packaged pastries and some fresh fruit. Linens changed on the third day.

Their greatest asset is the staff, including the owners, who are often there. Suzanne is a US ex-patriate with some keen insight into the Florentine mind and who is happy to help with tickets to the Uffizi, l'Accademia or wherever else you want to go. She and Danny steered us to some delicious dinners.

We hope to pass through Florence again and when we do, we'll stay here.


Reviewed by: Mike&Deb East Pete from USA, review #1485

When: May 2006

Clean, comfortable, attractive rooms on a quiet street in the old town. The only thing we lacked was more time to be there. Suzanne's a gem!

We stayed in this 2 star B&B in 2003 and didn't consider staying anywhere else in 2006.

At €110 per night, it's a great bargain and one of the best we found in Tuscany. Suzanne directed us to excellent restaurants, made reservations for us for museums and dinners and helped sort our priorities for sight-seeing.

Within walking distance of everything. Modern convenience with original frescoes on the ceilings. Have your breakfast in the sitting room or on the small balcony. Stay here with Suzanne, Danny & Peter!


Reviewed by: Barry Ainsworth from UK, review #1366

When: January 2006

Just a wonderful place to stay, excellent service, clean, comfortable, friendly with a great loaction. We cannot praise Dei Mori enough - superb.

I and my partner stayed at the Dei Mori in January and from the outset it was a great experience.

The booking procedure was courteous, helpful and efficient and even before we arrived we knew that we had made a wise choice. We were given lots of helpful planning information and even though we felt that we were asking a lot of questions, we were never made to feel a nuisance – each one was answered in a quick, accurate and helpful way.

Even before we met the Dei Mori team of Daniele, Peter and Suzanne, we felt like friends and this made us look forward so much to our arrival.

On the day of our arrival, our flight was delayed and we arrived at Dei Mori after midnight for our check-in. We immediately felt tremendous energy about the place and most importantly for us, a good feeling. Danny gave us a great welcome despite the late hour and we were pleased to be shown our beautiful Italian room complete with a fresco on the ceiling. The room was of a good size, spotlessly clean and well furnished in a simple yet elegant Italian style.

The bathroom was again spotless with a proper large shower cubicle not one of those stupid wet floor showers which you find in so many hotel bedrooms in Mediterranean Europe. The towels were large and fluffy.

As it was late, we were pleased to get into bed and were again satisfied with the comfort of this – large, firm, good pillows, crisp linen and a wonderful down duvet.

The sitting room was elegant and comfortably furnished and there was a huge vase of fresh lilies – there were also fresh flowers in the bedrooms.

We were properly welcomed after a simple yet good breakfast – plenty of excellent coffee. Peter met us and gave us so many useful tips, advice and recommendations for restaurants. We tried many of these during our stay and we have to say that his suggestions hit the mark in terms of value, atmosphere and quality. He helped us with our touring planning, telling us where and when to visit the many attractions of this fabulous city. Peter is an Englishman with a wide experience of Florence and he was able to give us so much useful advice.

The only little problem for us was that as smokers we were politely requested to use the pretty outside terrace for our cigarettes – all the internal space was ‘no smoking’. We of course understood why this was so.

You can tell by now that we were impressed with Dei Mori and the location only strengthened this feeling. There were a few steps to climb to street level, but once there you are right in the historical heart of the city. Just a couple of minutes to most things and five minutes to almost everything. We loved to explore the atmospheric streets and enjoy a gelato (they even told us the best place to go for that).

It was great after a few hours sightseeing to go back to Dei Mori so easily and enjoy the calm peace of the place. Almost impossible to believe we were right in the historic heart of this fascinating city. Dei Mori had great 'energy'.

We stayed at Dei Mori for six days and just cannot praise the place enough. We were treated like guests in the strictest sense of the word. Nothing was a problem – never made to feel a nuisance – they just wanted to help.

Check out was similarly efficient. The bill was exactly as we expected and of course they helped with our onward travel plans, checking on train times and offering to look after our luggage until later in the day so that we could enjoy a few more hours in this spectacular city.

Well done Dei Mori. We made reservations because two different groups of friends had stayed there and loved it and we shall certainly pass the name of this great little hotel on to all those who visit Italy.

Our grateful thanks to Danny, Peter and Suzanne.


Reviewed by: Candee from AZ, review #1082

When: June 2005

A wonderful place in a lovely neighborhood.

The Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast and its sister unit, Badia House, are located on a quaint street right between the Duomo and the Uffizi. The house is run by Bruno, who went out of his way to accommodate us. We had a private room with private bath, and although the bath was across the hall it did not pose a problem for us. The room was very comfortable and upon inspection of the other guest rooms they all looked accommodating and clean.

Breakfast was served each morning by Bruno and consisted of coffee, juice, cereal, yogurt and assorted pastries. Additionally, Bruno kept a small refrigerator near the guest rooms stocked with bottled water, beer, sodas and a few bottles of wine at an extremely reasonable cost should you decide to partake.

We loved the location. Not only were we within walking distance from all the major attractions, we were charmed by the small shops, restaurants and caffes right on our own street. Leaving after five days seemed to us as if we were leaving friends behind. The B&B is on a bus route as well if you decide to use the public transit to get around town. The advertised rate on their site is €90 for a classic room/double occupancy. For that price we found it to be a bargain. We would definitely stay there again.


Reviewed by: Marta from WA, review #43

When: Fall 2001

Good B&B in the budget range.

The Dei Mori Bed&Breakfast is in the "budget" category. It is very centrally located between the Duomo and Piazza della Signoria. In fact, it is actually just a few doors down from the American Express Office.

We stayed in a standard double room with a shared bath. The room was a little small but it does have a sink in the room. The bath was large and just down the hall. The owners were very nice and provided a lot of advice for visiting Florence. They sent a great email with details on the accommodations and useful links for booking museum visits and train schedules.

The breakfast was a standard continental breakfast of coffee, orange juice and great bread and pastry. We really liked the location. It was also not too noisy. It was so easy to get to the major sites. We were only there for two nights so it was important to have easy access to the sites.


Reviewed by: Julie from GA, review #44

When: Summer 2001

Very central hotel.

Very central! It is two minutes to Piazza della Signoria, 5 to the Piazza del Duomo, and only 10 from the train station. It is right next to the American Express office that will also make travel arrangements for you.

We stayed in room 3, a double room with private bath @ 190,000L per night with a 10% discount for payment in cash. The bath was miniscule with a shower that was very much a part of the room as a whole, but was hot and powerful.

We had a pretty patterned marble floor, glimpses of fresco on the ceiling, and a courtyard "view". The bed was comfy and the towels big. We couldn't find the AC (10,000L extra per day), but the room was comfortable without it. The building was built as a convent about 200 years ago (?), and has some "unimportant" frescoes from the 18th century (?). They have 13 rooms, a nice little breakfast room, and small balcony over the courtyard.

I only saw the owners Danny and Daniel briefly, but enjoyed Linda, who seemed to do the main management. She is Canadian and speaks several languages fluently and was quite helpful and knowledgeable about a variety of topics. Breakfast was coffee or tea, a small piece of breakfast cake, fresh sliced bread from the bakery, and/or packaged tea biscuits and toasts. Butter, 3 jams and honey were on the table.

This review is the opinion of a Slow Travel member and not of slowtrav.com.

Back to Top

Car Rental Hotel Booking Flight Booking Train Tickets Books, Maps, Events
Europe Cell Phones Long Distance Cards Luggage, etc. Travel Insurance Classifieds

* Advertise on Slow Travel | Post your travel questions on the Slow Travel Forums

Copyright © 2000 - 2014 SlowTrav.com, unless noted otherwise. Slow Travel® is a registered trademark. Contact Slow Travel

RSS Feeds - Link to Us - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Currency Converter - Colophon - Sponsors - Become a Member
Home | Forums | Slow Travel? | Europe Trip Planning | Photos | Trip Reports | Search | About Us | Classifieds