> SlowTrav > Italy > Hotel Reviews > Piemonte

Asti: B&B Villa Sampaguita

Bricco Cravera, Valleandona 117, Phone: 0141.295.802
www.villasampaguita.com

Reviewed by: Rex M from CA, review #3306

When: August 2013

#1 in Piemonte!

We just finished a wonderful week here, and can’t recommend it highly enough.

Rina and Tim were great hosts and made us feel as though we were at home. Beginning each day with a wonderful breakfast by Rina and detailed, insightful travel tips from Tim was a delight.

Be sure to include a dinner, if you can arrange it; both the food and their wine are excellent. The location is convenient for all kinds of day trips.

The room was large, clean and comfortable. The facility is charming and maintained to high standards.


Reviewed by: Dorothy S from CO, review #2633

When: May 2009

Words are not enough to describe our stay. Tim and Rina are wonderful. Price and rooms are exceptional. We recommend it.

The welcoming relaxing atmosphere of Villa Sampaguita, plus Tim and Rina made this a holiday from heaven.

I would have never expected to have such a wonderful time. The price of 90 euros was beyond belief and we have stayed at much higher priced accommodations and not had the experience as we did at Villa Sampaguita. Thanks, Tim and Rina.


Reviewed by: Cracker from FL, review #2611

When: May 2009

It would be difficult to find more gracious hosts than Tim and Rina; you will leave as friends.

We enjoyed our four night stay at Villa Sampaguita very much. Tim and Rina were wonderful host and made our visit special in many ways. We highly recommend scheduling one of Rina's wonderful dinners if at all possible. She is a marvelous cook and our dinner on the night of our arrival was one of the best of our three week trip.

The rooms were large, comfortable and very clean and the breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. We enjoyed our balcony with its amazing view. The common area was perfect for gathering to enjoy a glass of Tim's good wine and meeting other guests. We took full advantage of the computer and free internet provided for the use of guests.

The property is located close to Asti and there are good restaurants in the area. Tim is a wealth of information and was a great help in planning day trips and making reservations.


Reviewed by: Chiqui from Canada, review #2449

When: October 2008

The best assets of Villa Sampaguita are Tim & Rina. They are the reason why this B&B is exceptional.

Let me start by saying, when we left after 7 days, it felt like saying goodbye to family.

The property: Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The common areas of the living and dining room were the perfect setting to socialize and get to know the other guests. The computer with free internet was very much appreciated.

Tim: After breakfast, Tim would spend the time to plan our day, complete with detailed maps. We had some of our best meals at the restaurants he recommended. Tim is also a wealth of information, especially when it comes to wine.

Rina: Try to book a dinner at the Villa. Rina rivals some of the best chefs in the area. Along with the breakfast laid out every morning on the side table, Rina takes the time to cook an egg or two to each guest's wishes. Even though she has a very full schedule, Rina always takes the time to chat with her guests.

Tim & Rina, you are the BEST!


Reviewed by: Gaia from CA, review #1918

When: May 2007

We had a wonderful stay!

My husband and I spent 3 days at Villa Sampaguita in May 2007. We were in Italy for 19 days - one week in a rental villa in Sinalunga in Tuscany and then the next week and a half traveling in Liguria and Piemonte.

This was our first trip to Piemonte. And even though we still love Southern Tuscany, we actually like Piemonte even better. And Villa Sampaguita was definitely the favorite place we stayed at during our trip.

As has been mentioned by other reviewers, Tim and Rina are both really lovely people and Villa Sampaguita is wonderful - very affordable, great rooms, and beautiful outdoor areas. And although you are in the country, it takes less than 10 minutes to get into Asti.

The meals that Rina prepares are truly delicious and Tim is a wealth of knowledge of places to go and things to do in the area! He spends time each morning with each couple or guest to help them plan an itinerary for the day. And his wines and homemade fruit "infusions" are great.

In fact, in my initial email message to Tim, I had expressed my interest in finding more information about Le Masche, the witches of the Langhe and Roero areas as I am planning to write about this subject. Tim actually managed to arrange an interview for me in the town of Sinio with the gentleman who organizes Sinio's "Notte delle Masche" festival each August 14th. I have never had a host of any B&B I have stayed at go to such lengths for me! It was just amazing that he would do that for me and I really appreciated it.

Also, while we were there, another guest couple had a medical emergency which required one of them to be taken via ambulance to the hospital in Asti (the injury had occurred before they arrived at Villa Sampaguita). Rina accompanied the couple to the hospital and stayed for with them at the hospital for over 3 hours, helping to translate. Even though this situation disrupted the normal flow of life at Villa Sampaguita a bit, neither my husband or I nor any of the other guests minded at all. In fact, we were all really impressed by Tim and Rina's kindness in this situation.

In fact, I loved Piemonte so much I am going back by myself in mid-August 2007 to attend the Notte delle Masche in Sinio and explore the area a bit more. And I've already booked my room at Villa Sampaguita - for a full week this time. I just can't imagine staying anywhere else in Piemonte.


Reviewed by: JefferyC from USA, review #1729

When: 2006

Wonderful, comfortable accommodations. Both Tim and Rina have made our stays most enjoyable.

We returned this past November after having such a wonderful time in 05' and it only gets better. Both Tim and Rina offer excellent insight into the region's wealth of treasures. From wineries to restaurant recomendations to where to find a replacement hubcap for my rental car, they fired on all cylinders. I am already planning my return trip ... if only my wife weren't so fond of tartuffi.


Reviewed by: David Wold from Sweden, review #1561

When: July 2006

We enjoyed Villa Sampaguita B&B and the cycling around there so much last year that we decided to stay there again this year.

Cycling and enjoying the wonderful views of Barolo vineyards., photo by David Wold

My wife and I live in Sweden and we travel to Italy and France each summer for cycling in top-of-the-line wine districts. Villa Sampaguita B&B is ideal for this purpose.

It is situated just short drives from the famed vineyards and wineries of Asti, Barolo and Barbaresco and other centers of the Piedmont wine region. Our interest is self-guided, roundtrip bicycle tours that start and end in these and other villages. The trips vary in distance from about 30 to 50 km in beautiful countryside characterized by long uphill and therefore long downhill runs.

Apart from the cycling opportunities Sampaguita offers, it is beneficial in a number of other ways. Tim and Rina have tastefully recently converted a farm into very comfortable B&B accommodations, and they are extremely hospitable.

They both speak English, a distinct advantage, unless you are fluent in Italian. Tim possesses a wealth of knowledge about Piedmont that he is more than willing to share – a definite help when planning bike trips. Rina is an excellent cook and experiencing at least one evening meal featuring her delicate mixture of local and Asian cuisine is a must. We are told that her breakfasts are excellent too, but we chose to do our own. Most of her ingredients are home made. This is also true of the wine she serves.

Bicycling in the area is wonderful – a little hilly but compensated by some of the finest wineries available. Tim has helped us arrange bike rentals and has steered us in the direction of excellent wineries that also speak our language – in our case English. We not only taste wine, we buy it too. Because we taste while we bike, we feel that it is important to let the winery proprietors know of this fact in advance. They understand that not too much wine can be carried on bicycles. We then collect our purchases in our car. If you simply want to taste and not buy, you can offer to pay for the opportunity to taste some very good wines at a reasonable price.

This was our second visit at Villa Sampaguita but surely not our last.

This review is the opinion of a Slow Travel member and not of slowtrav.com.

Back to Top

Car Rental Hotel Booking Flight Booking Train Tickets Books, Maps, Events
Europe Cell Phones Long Distance Cards Luggage, etc. Travel Insurance Classifieds

* Advertise on Slow Travel | Post your travel questions on the Slow Travel Forums

Copyright © 2000 - 2014 SlowTrav.com, unless noted otherwise. Slow Travel® is a registered trademark. Contact Slow Travel

RSS Feeds - Link to Us - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Currency Converter - Colophon - Sponsors - Become a Member
Home | Forums | Slow Travel? | Europe Trip Planning | Photos | Trip Reports | Search | About Us | Classifieds