> SlowTrav > Italy > Hotel Reviews > Florence

Duomo: Hotel Casci

Via Cavour, 13
www.hotelcasci.com

* Click to book this hotel online


Reviewed by: Frombythesea from Canada, review #2667

When: July 2009

Clean, quiet, family run, centrally located hotel (with wi-fi, air conditioning, elevator & breakfast). Would return.

Our experience with Hotel Casci was very positive.

The hotel is centrally located between the Accademia museum and the Duomo. The room was simply furnished, good size, a/c, wi-fi, comfortable bed, in room fridge & safe.

Private bathroom was 5 star marble, newly renovated with large towels. No street noise at all. Family run. It felt more like a large B&B then a hotel. Staff were friendly. Breakfast (cereal, pastries, rolls, cappuccino, etc.) included. Has elevator.


Reviewed by: Anneo123 from LA, review #2189

When: February 2008

This was a great hotel for my last night in Florence. Very close to the Duomo, wonderful staff, very low price.

I had one last night to spend in Florence, returning after traveling to Assisi and Pisa, before heading to Milan for the flight home. I wanted somewhere convenient to the train station, but also close to the city center so I could do some last minute sight-seeing.

Hotel Casci seemed to fit the bill. Turns out, that it was perfect! Very helpful, welcoming staff (in fact, the front desk guy happened to be coming into the building while I was, said "You must be Anne," and carried my luggage in! The room was only 54E (paid cash; would have been 60 with credit card). Including a very nice breakfast buffet, free wireless internet in the rooms, free computer in lobby if you didn't have your own, a "leave a book, take a book" shelf (so I dropped off all I had finished and picked up a couple of new ones for the flight!).

The room was very nice-sized, had TV with CNN Int'l, small but adequate bathroom. Bed was very comfortable.

The hotel is located just a couple of blocks from the Duomo. Cab ride from the train station was 8E; it was about a 15 minute walk back the next day. (Should have taken the cab again ... luggage was a pain on the streets!)

I'd recommend this place to anyone who was looking for a hotel in Florence. Anne


Reviewed by: Nancy924 from NJ, review #1817

When: February 2007

We were looking forward to staying at Hotel Casci after reading all the positive reviews - we were not disappointed.

Hotel Casci is a 2 star hotel, but I give it 5 stars! Now the hotel itself is not a posh Ritz type of hotel, but it had everything we needed including an incredible staff. We were treated like family here and would not hesitate to return again in the future.

We had a triple room (cash rate of 117 euros/night) which was perfect in size, we were not on top of one another, and the bathroom was of ample size. There isn't anything negative I can say about this hotel.

Breakfast was adequate, coffee/tea, eggs, toast, etc. Mrs. Lombardi makes some good cappuccino!


Reviewed by: joe94553 from USA, review #1595

When: September 2006

Great centrally located hotel. {2 stars}

Stayed at this hotel after recommendation from a friend. Centrally located. Room relatively small but clean and quiet. Staff could not have been more helpful.

Good breakfast. Nice touch was a computer in the lobby free of charge for internet access. Wine, beer, and soft drinks available in the lobby anytime. Very close to the Accademia, Duomo, etc. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Not the fanciest place around, but for the money hard to beat.


Reviewed by: Kirsteno from Norway, review #1542

When: August 2006

Very central location, neat and clean rooms, breakfast included, helpful staff.

The location of the hotel is very good, short walking distance to the main sights and shopping.

The hotel entrance is a bit strange, as it is located on the 2nd floor of a city center building (there is a small lift that will take the luggage). Very helpful staff, fluent in English. Free use of internet PC in reception area. Huge selection of guide books that you can borrow and browse while you stay there. Simple rooms, neat, clean and quiet. Breakfast included in room price - good buffet selection. We paid 150 per night for a double room. Hotel rating is two stars.


Reviewed by: Kenn from CO, review #1321

When: December 2005

A friendly, family owned hotel located near the Duomo and central to everything you will want to see. {2 stars}

Things took a downhill slide when my wife slipped and broke her foot on a day trip to Siena. But the owners moved us to a handicapped accessible room and made our stay comfortable. They showed an obvious concern for the welfare and comfort of their guests.

Great breakfasts, free Internet service, and the guests are often in the small lobby talking to each other and giving restaurant and museum recommendations. I can't say enough about the friendly owners and staff (especially Pierrepaulo). Great restaurant recommendations and help on getting places. I think it has a two star but in our book it was outstanding 4 star. We met interesting guests that we would not have met in an impersonal larger hotel and I doubt we would have gotten to know owners or staff at a large American or Continental hotel.

100 a night during the Christmas high season for two persons.

Two blocks from the Duomo, 3 from San Lorenzo church and market and 3 blocks from the hospital - which was an unplanned visit. Also close to the Accademia and San Marco. A great location central to everything.

Prior to the accident we could walk to everywhere. Afterwards, cabs would pick us up at the hotel 2-4 minutes after being called.


Reviewed by: Geralyn from CT, review #1109

When: June 2005

Just 1-1/2 blocks from the Duomo. Family-run, spotless, great breakfast; really deserves more than a 2-star rating. Great value for the price.

Inquiries and reservations were made by email; all responses were very prompt. We reserved about 4 months ahead of our trip and confirmed one week before arriving. Rooms were exactly as requested: 2 doubles and 1 twin-bedded room.

The hotel is on the 2nd floor and there is small elevator (2 people or 1 person and luggage). Rooms are air-conditioned (very well!), but not the hotel common areas. We had rooms #10, 11 & 19. Rooms #10 & 11 were very recently renovated: three rooms were combined to make two good-sized rooms, each with a private bath. Room #10 has a smaller bedroom area, but the bathroom has a shower (with curtain) and separate large bath tub. Room #11 has more space in the bedroom, and a combination tub/shower in the bathroom. Room #19 has two twin beds and a small balcony over an interior courtyard (look for the yellow watch on the tile roof below: it fell out of my son's pants pocket when he hung them over the railing). The best feature of Room #19 is the "fold-out" toilet and bidet in the bathroom. The kids are still talking about it.

Rooms are cleaned and linen changed everyday. The place is spotless. Rooms all have small refrigerators and programmable safes; TVs with 12 channels: CNN and Eurosport in english.

There is a computer for guests' use in the bar/reception area. The kids spent some late-night time there and it was also useful for checking restaurant recommendations and maps. Breakfast was great. Served 7:30-9:00am (and sometimes later) and well-staffed, we enjoyed coronetti, toast, hard-boiled and soft-boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, granola & cornflakes, pastries and rolls, cheeses, pates, OJ and ice water, caffe, cappuchino, tea and even decaf American coffee.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and they speak excellent english. There are english-language guidebooks to borrow and english paperbacks to swap. The hotel can also arrange for tours and excursions.

We would definitely stay here again; it's like staying with family. Double rooms cost 140 per night, including breakfast, if paid with cash; 150 on the credit card.


Reviewed by: Karen from CA, review #635

When: July 2004

Great hospitality, location and value at the Casci. {2 stars}

The warm, friendly, extremely helpful staff is 5 star, and sets the Casci apart from all other 2 star hotels. Rooms are Spartan, but relatively large, impeccably clean and comfortable. Air conditioning works well. Bathrooms are large -- big tub, powerful hot shower. Plenty of closet space.

Breakfast is ample if not gourmet, and served with kindness. Ideal location; steps away from all the sites.

Our room, in the back of the hotel, was very quiet (my husband is a terrible sleeper and it was quiet enough even for him). Excellent value (under 300 for a quad). Great for families.

This review is the opinion of a Slow Travel member and not of slowtrav.com.

Back to Top

Car Rental Hotel Booking Flight Booking Train Tickets Books, Maps, Events
Europe Cell Phones Long Distance Cards Luggage, etc. Travel Insurance Classifieds

* Advertise on Slow Travel | Post your travel questions on the Slow Travel Forums

Copyright © 2000 - 2014 SlowTrav.com, unless noted otherwise. Slow Travel® is a registered trademark. Contact Slow Travel

RSS Feeds - Link to Us - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Currency Converter - Colophon - Sponsors - Become a Member
Home | Forums | Slow Travel? | Europe Trip Planning | Photos | Trip Reports | Search | About Us | Classifieds