> SlowTrav > Italy > Hotel Reviews > Venice

San Marco: Locanda Orseolo

Phone: 041.5204827
www.locandaorseolo.com

* Click to book this hotel online


Reviewed by: Shilli from USA, review #2045

When: September 2007

The best in our three trips to Italy.

This small hotel is the best we have stayed at in our three trips to Italy! Barbara, Francesco and staff speak perfect English, are so kind and truly interested in your stay in Venice. Even so close to Piazza St. Marco, the hotel is very quiet. The rooms are lovely, and breakfast is made to order.

There is no elevator but bags were delivered to our room so this was no concern for us. We highly recommend taking the private water taxi to/from the airport if that fits your budget. It was E100.00 which we split between two couples. The taxi will deliver you right to the hotel via a side canal.


Reviewed by: AnnieNC from NC, review #1749

When: December 2006

All of the raves about this place are true.

I had read the reviews of this B&B both on Slow Travel and Trip Advisor, and I was curious to see if it was as wonderful as everyone said. I can confirm that all the raves are true.

It's an amazing place to stay, mainly because the Peruch family are such incredible hosts. These people have mastered the art of hospitality, and are genuinely nice people who love Venice and love their work. I looked forward to coming "home" after a day walking around Venice and talking to them about everything I'd done that day. It's truly an awesome place to stay. Book well in advance because they only have 12 rooms.


Reviewed by: Dr.X from USA, review #1291

When: November 2005

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast.

Locando Orseolo is run by Mateo and his wife, Barbara and his brother, Bruno. They are wonderful hosts and Mateo cooks up some great eggs (to order) in the mornings.

It is ideally located right off of Saint Marco and is right on a canal for taxi service. The 12 rooms are individually decorated and charming. This is not for the budget traveler, but well worth it if you want to be spoiled in romantic Venice.

Make sure to get their advice on restaurants because you can get burned in the wallet in this city.


Reviewed by: b&j and the gang from MA, review #1174

When: August 2005

This hotel is wonderful! The rooms are nice, the hospitality is amazing, and the breakfast (included) is unbelievable. Great location, too!

This hotel is great. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay in Venice special. They helped us navigate some troubles with train reservations before we left home; problems that took them some time to resolve for us. They steered us to a wonderful meal (Acqua Pazza) and made tour reservations for us. When we walked in to the hotel they knew my name. All 9 of us were personally introduced to all the staff. The hotel is lovely. It is decorated with a lot of beautiful deep red colors with such a warm welcoming feel. When you sit in the breakfast room with classical music playing, with the low window open to the canal, you are transported to another time. The breakfast included in the price of the room is one of the best breakfasts I have ever eaten and certainly the best during this trip to France and Italy. My daughter still raves about the crepes! I loved the omelettes! They also serve grilled vegetables, cold meats, cheeses, delicious home-made pastries and so much else. Every detail is amazing including wonderful espresso and cappuccino.

We had 3 rooms, each with 3 people. One room opened to a small room with a single bed (which doubled as a couch) with a television with an open doorway to a larger room with a nice double bed. The other two rooms had a double and a single bed in the same room. One room had a canal view out the window and the other two were opened in the courtyard. I stayed in the canal view room and the sounds of the canal were wonderful but the closed windows kept out all the sound if you wanted quiet. Each of the rooms were 190 euros a night in August of 2005.

The staff at the hotel were talking about opening a restaurant in Tuscany at some point. I would want to rush out to try it!

The hotel is a very short walk away from San Marco. Great location and not noisy at all.

We can't say enough good things about this hotel. Everyone loved it!


Reviewed by: msgtravel from NJ, review #1152

When: December 2004

This is a wonderful hotel, the best hotel experience that we've ever had!

We will always treasure the memories of our stay at the Locanda Orseolo. It is like staying in the beautiful home of good friends. Especially recommended for a first trip to Venice, the staff gives wonderful advice, directions, sight-seeing and restaurant recommendations. Breakfast is lovely, the rooms are comfortable, the location is great. Most importantly, it is the kind attention from the owners and staff that make this a unique and special place.


Reviewed by: jgk from FL, review #1064

When: 2005

The best hotel "experience" (and the best breakfast) in Italy! On our return visit we were treated like long lost friends. These people really do it right.

The quad room really works well here because there are two separate spaces. AC is excellent as is the view of the canal and the bathroom which is big by Italy hotel standards. Book early!


Reviewed by: SusanL from USA, review #840

When: October 2004

A wonderful small hotel near San Marco ... highly recommend.

Our Room, photo by SusanL

We had the pleasure of spending 3 nights in Venice at the Locanda Orseolo. One thing that made it even more special was that our room was the first to undergo significant renovations, so it was even better than we had expected. We were even able to take advantage of their water entrance when we arrived and left which was very convenient.

If you’re like us, you’ve read a lot of very good reviews about this hotel, but we have to say that they are not exaggerated. Besides its great location, the one thing that really sets this hotel apart from others is the owners and staff. They truly seem want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, and they do. Barbara, Matteo and Francesco made all the arrangements that we needed including restaurants, tours, and shops.

From their warm welcome, to the great breakfast and their attentiveness to your needs, it all serves to make Venice even more extraordinary. We couldn’t recommend this hotel more highly.


Reviewed by: Ravi from CA, review #830

When: December 2004

Lives up to everything said about it, and more.

Locanda Orseolo has been praised to the skies on many websites by satisfied guests. This led me to select them, having never before been to Venice and not knowing how to calibrate the glowing reviews. I now know why.

First off, the place is a very short walk from Piazza San Marco but is a little hard to find. They're one part of a courtyard which, I think, holds residential dwellings, and they are limited in the signage they can put up. That being said, the place is immaculate and run by four young, very engaging friends who did everything possible to make my stay a pleasant one: Restaurant and performance recommendations, detailed directions (and in Venice, one needs them) to places, help with train reservations and bookings, and even access to their computer and Internet link. The breakfasts are very good, especially the coffee and Matteo's crepes-to-order.

I paid €120/night for four nights. They have a service that allows one to pay the bill in one's own currency, minimizing currency conversion charges and fees.

Reserve and stay with confidence.


Reviewed by: Mark from Indy from IN, review #707

When: 2004

Two thumbs up! Lovely owners, lovely location, will stay again.

A great hotel. Make sure to ask Barbara for her dinning recommendations...everything from a vegetarian dinner in a neighborhood filled with only locals...to a many course meal of typical Venetian fare and a top notch wine list.

We are an openly gay male couple and found Locanda Orseolo as refreshing and as special as Venice itself.

We paid €220 per night for a deluxe double...the room is actually pictured on their website. I believe we received a small discount due to booking the room for three versus two nights.


Reviewed by: jgk from FL, review #602

When: June 2004

Suffice it to say ... everything you read on tripadvisor: It's TRUE!

This place can't be beat. Great clean updated rooms. Best breakfasts we had in Italy including customized omelettes. Perfect location; just far enough from San Marco to feel sane and near enough to everything else. Nice views.

The real stars of this show are Barbara and Matteo and family. From the first meeting they treat you like family in a warm and totally friendly way. I would go back there in a minute. Prices: about €200/night depending on the room.


Reviewed by: ashchapman from CA, review #385

When: September 2003

Hidden treasure of Italy! Small, intimate and personalized service!

Stayed here from September 10-12 of 2003. We had taken the wrong train on our way to Venice and ended up in Rome and missed several trains thereafter due to uncontrollable circumstances. The hotel would not let us out of our reservation even in light of our situation. I was a bit irritated by this as we were then forced to purchase plane tickets in order to get there in time to make our reservation.

Despite all of the effort and madness in getting there, I have to say that the hotel was both a wonderful and memorable experience mainly because of Barbara and Mateo (ladies, Mateo is gorgeous!). They are a wonderful couple (recently engaged and have only had the hotel since January of 2003) and made you feel at right at home. They are a small hotel (only 15 rooms), so I could understand their cancellation policy.

The hotel is in a great location, situated on one of the neighborhood canals; each room with a canal view. I was glad that we decided not to stay at a hotel located on the Grand Canal. This was the perfect choice!

One suggestion, get a deluxe room, not a big price difference, but worth it as it's much roomier. The standard rooms are very small.

The hotel was very charming and clean. Their prices are very reasonable when compared to others. I would rate their hotel, a 4.5 (stars). Loved it and would absolutely stay again!

This review is the opinion of a Slow Travel member and not of slowtrav.com.

Back to Top

Car Rental Hotel Booking Flight Booking Train Tickets Books, Maps, Events
Europe Cell Phones Long Distance Cards Luggage, etc. Travel Insurance Classifieds

* Advertise on Slow Travel | Post your travel questions on the Slow Travel Forums

Copyright © 2000 - 2014 SlowTrav.com, unless noted otherwise. Slow Travel® is a registered trademark. Contact Slow Travel

RSS Feeds - Link to Us - Disclaimer - Privacy Policy - Currency Converter - Colophon - Sponsors - Become a Member
Home | Forums | Slow Travel? | Europe Trip Planning | Photos | Trip Reports | Search | About Us | Classifieds