> SlowTrav > Italy > Hotel Reviews > Rome

Colosseo: Nicolas Inn

Via Cavour
www.nicolasinn.com

* Click to book this hotel online


Reviewed by: susanc from USA, review #2755

When: September 2009

Fantastic B&B in Rome near Colosseum!

I stayed at Nicolas Inn for 3 nights in September. I loved the location; steps from the Colosseum, short walk to Campo De Fiori, and an easy downhill walk from Termini.

I traveled alone this trip and was so relieved to find that this B&B was in a safe area, clean, great sized room and a large bathroom (with an incredible bathtub/shower with great water pressure!). Plus it was close to all the sites I wanted to see.

Melissa and Francois were great and really helpful answering all my questions about Rome plus they had great restaurant recommendations.

I will definitely be staying here on my next trip to Rome!


Reviewed by: jilm from Italy, review #2525

When: February 2009

If you want to feel like you are with family in Rome, this is the place to go.

Three of us shared a room here in February and we all loved it. It cost us €120 per night. Melissa and Francoise could not have been nicer or more helpful before and during our visit. They made reservations for us at the Borghese Galleries, told us the best time to go to the Vatican and gave us excellent recommendations of where to eat.

Their place is very near the Colosseum and the rest of ancient Rome and walking distance to many of the sights we were interested in.

Although they do not live on the premises they are right across the street as well as a phone call away. There was a wonderful bottle of wine waiting for us with fruit and homemade goodies available during the day. Breakfast was a few doors down from them and very typically Italian ... if I was there any longer I would have gained many more kilos then I did.

I would go back anytime I was planning to be in Rome and would recommend it to anyone who asked me for a great place to stay in Rome.


Reviewed by: Nancy924 from NJ, review #2468

When: November 2008

Feels a little like home...

My Mom and I stayed at the Nicolas Inn specifically to be in the area of the Colosseum. The sole purpose of our short stay in Rome (mostly because we flew in and out of Rome direct), was to see the Forum and Colosseum area.

Nicolas Inn has 4 or 5 rooms, with private bathrooms. There are not a lot of amenities here (no phone in the room, no breakfast, etc.), but it was immaculately clean, and the owners were wonderful in directing us to great restaurants, etc.

The only down side is it is on a busy street, Via Cavour, and was quite noisy, even with the air conditioning on.

We paid 120 euros for the night. I guess considering that it is Rome, it wasn't a bad price. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I were in the area.


Reviewed by: TuttidiMare from USA, review #2336

When: July 2008

Great stay!

We have been to Rome before but never stayed at a B&B. The falling dollar forced us to try a B&B and Nicolas Inn was a great find.

The Inn is run by Melissa and François, who gave us a warm welcome. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. The wrought-iron bed was beautiful. Our bathroom had great water pressure, a full size bathtub and plenty of warm water.

Free wi-fi throughout the rooms was an added bonus, as was the fact that the signal was strong enough to maintain internet connection.

For breakfast we were given a voucher for Ciardi Bar located a few doors down from Nicolas Inn. At first we weren’t thrilled about having breakfast at a bar but it turned out very convenient. We could eat whenever we wanted and had a large selection of pastries and sandwiches to choose from. This bar does a lot of local business and it was fun to start each day people watching.

Nicolas Inn is located on Via Cavour near the Roman Forum. The windows are soundproof; no street noise kept us awake. The area has a neighborhood feel to it with lots of shops for the locals as well as boutiques on Via dei Serpenti and Via del Boschetto.

Melissa & François recommended several excellent restaurants that were a great deal. We would not hesitate staying at this place again and recommend it to others.


Reviewed by: ellens from NJ, review #2171

When: February 2008

Wonderful B&B a few steps from Imperial Rome (Forum, Colosseum); easy to get to via public transportation. Well priced, clean, large room, wireless internet.

I've read about the Nicolas Inn for years on Slowtrav and Slowtalk; on this trip I finally had a chance to stay there (although it was only one night).

This is a small B&B on the second floor (1st floor Italian) of a building on Via Cavour, steps from Via dei Fori Imperiali and the Forum and Colosseum. Both owners (Melissa and Francois Nicolas) were there to greet me when I arrived and Francois came down to carry my luggage up the one flight of stairs.

My room is large (by Italian hotel/B&B standards) and fully equipped with individually controlled air conditioning, a refrigerator, satellite TV, wireless internet access (I'm actually writing the review from the room) and hair dryer. It has a very comfortable king sized bed, desk, two chairs, large armoire, mini safe (not big enough for my laptop, but plenty large enough for cameras, jewelry, money, passports, etc.) nightstands and tiled in-suite bath. Every inch of the place is clean.

Melissa suggested an excellent restaurant nearby for lunch: La Taverna dei Fori Imperiali. She made it clear that she was available and willing to be of service, whatever the request.

I booked my stay at the last minute (about a week prior to my trip) directly through their website. I used a credit card to hold the reservation but paid cash (€100/night) upon arrival. I would absolutely stay here again and wholeheartedly recommend it to friends.


Reviewed by: skiobx from USA, review #1772

When: July 2006

Excellent B&B in a Great Location.

We stayed at the Nicolas Inn with our two sons 10 and 12. The hosts arranged a pick-up from the airport which was perfect. We arrived to a warm welcome by Melissa and Francois. They offered us snacks and drinks and assistance.

Our rooms (we rented two) were immaculate and the bathrooms were modern. The rooms included safes, mini-fridges, irons and hair dryers. Melissa and Francois went out of their way to answer any questions and provided an orientation of Rome. The Inn was a short walk to the Colosseum, Forum, Spanish Steps, etc. ... and a Metro stop. They provided excellent restaurant recommendations (many within walking distance), travel tips and the best way to avoid "traps."

If we are ever blessed to return to Rome we will again stay at the Nicolas Inn.


Reviewed by: CaroleM from CA, review #1518

When: June 2006

This B&B is great for people that want a nice place to stay without spending a fortune.

The location was excellent. We walked everywhere except for the Vatican, which is on the other side of the river. The Coliseum is only a couple blocks away and you can see part of the Roman Forum from the Inn's door.

There is a great little alley across the street that provides a peek of the Coliseum as well. The B&B is in a great neighborhood. It seems a bit touristy until you start exploring the tiny side streets where the locals live. Melissa, the American half of the couple that runs the place, took us down to the little deli and helped us order sandwiches. We also picked up some amazing olives!

There is an internet café, ATM, grocery store, Laundromat, fruit stand and lots of great restaurants nearby.

As mentioned in other reviews, Nicolas Inn is a B&B so there is not a lot of common area. But the rooms are well appointed and of good size. We thought they were nicely decorated and had plenty of space for storage. There is free wi-fi in the room but we chose to disconnect from the world and leave the laptop at home. In the heat of June we were especially grateful for the chilly air conditioning. We had a remote that allowed us to control the temperature.

We loved the service provided by Francois & Melissa. There was a train strike that would have complicated our travel plans but Francois helped us find a train that would be running during the strike. Their restaurant recommendations were amazing (see my reviews).

When you check in they give you a map and quickly mark the sights, restaurants and gelato shops. They really listen to what you want; it’s not just a speech given to everyone. My husband was interested in finding some great photos of Rome’s skyline and they marked just the places to go.


Reviewed by: Debbie from USA, review #1170

When: May 2005

Wonderful place with American owner.

We stayed at the Nicolas Inn and loved it. It is between the train station and the Colosseum. A married couple own the hotel. She is an American and he is Italian. They are great resources for lots of information. In addition, she made reservations for us at some of the museums.

We loved the location and we paid around €120 per night. We found the hotel quite charming. We thought the area was nice and convenient. Some of the tour books do not like this area; however, we found it perfectly acceptable.


Reviewed by: Lily from Canada, review #1034

When: May 2005

Wonderful location, service and breakfast at the Nicolas Inn.

Wonderful location, service and breakfast at the Nicolas Inn. Within walking distance to Colosseum, Forum and other attractions. Very reasonable rates.


Reviewed by: Leilani T from GA, review #749

When: October 2004

Leave your guidebook at home and stay here!

Had a great stay here. Small place so you have lots of service. Decent sized rooms and modern bathrooms. This was the only place that had beds long enough for my very tall husband.

The owners are very accommodating. They helped us find our way around the city. Every morning we chatted with them about where we wanted to go and they told us the best way to get there, what to see along the way and what to avoid. Their restaurant recommendations where right on target. Very helpful!

We paid €120/night.


Reviewed by: George & Renee from CO, review #668

When: August 2004

Attentive Service and Wonderful Rooms

We stayed at Nicolas Inn for 5 nights during a month long stay in Italy. Having never experienced a B&B I was a bit cautious. The Inn is located on the second floor (called the first floor in Europe) and there is no elevator. However, the owners carried our bags up the stairs.

Nicolas Inn is a charming little hotel. My husband and I shared one room and our teenage daughters were across the hall. Both of our rooms were spacious and spotless. My daughters couldn't stop raving about the bathrooms - very large! The owners, Francois & Melissa (she's an American) gave us priceless advice about touring Rome. Shopping tips, restaurant recommendations and just plain ol' info on how to move about the city. They booked tours for us and made museum reservations.

In the heat of August we were so happy the air conditioning actually worked and we controlled how cool the rooms were - not the owners! We paid 110 euros per night per room. It was money well spent for the service, a/c, hot water and excellent water pressure (I have to have a good shower to start my day!). We were able to walk to everything but the Vatican. We loved walking back to the B&B at night and seeing the Forum & Colosseum lit up at night.

This review is the opinion of a Slow Travel member and not of slowtrav.com.

Back to Top

Car Rental Hotel Booking Flight Booking Train Tickets Books, Maps, Events
Europe Cell Phones Long Distance Cards Luggage, etc. Travel Insurance Classifieds

* Advertise on Slow Travel | Post your travel questions on the Slow Travel Forums

Copyright © 2000 - 2014 SlowTrav.com, unless noted otherwise. Slow Travel® is a registered trademark. Contact Slow Travel

RSS Feeds - Link to Us - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Currency Converter - Colophon - Sponsors - Become a Member
Home | Forums | Slow Travel? | Europe Trip Planning | Photos | Trip Reports | Search | About Us | Classifieds