> SlowTrav > Italy

Regions of Italy

Throughout the Italy section of Slow Travelers, I break Italy up into the official regions (for vacation rental locations, for restaurant and hotel locations). List of official regions of Italy.

Areas within the Region of Tuscany

Since Tuscany is a large area and is very popular with tourists, I have arbitrarily divided it up into these areas:

Tuscany - Chianti: Central Tuscany region of Chianti. The region extends from just south of Florence in the north, to just north of Siena in the south; from San Donato and San Casciano in Val di Pesa in the west to Gaiole in the east.

Tuscany - Siena: The Tuscany town of Siena.

Tuscany - North: Northern part of Tuscany from Lucca to Florence and to the east and the region north of this.

Tuscany - South: South of Siena, all across Tuscany, excluding the coastal region. This includes Castiglion del Lago and Chiusi in the east, to Monte Amiata in the west.

Tuscany - East: The area east of Chianti and south of Pontassieve (near Florence) and north of the Siena-Perugia highway. This includes Arezzo, Cortona, Montevarchi.

Tuscany - West: The area including Pisa and south to Sovicile, west of the edge of Chianti. This includes Pisa, Volterra, San Gimignano, Colle di Val d'Elsa.

Tuscany - Coast: From Monte Argentario in the south, up along the coast to Livorno and Viareggio in the north.

Back to Top

Car Rental Hotel Booking Flight Booking Train Tickets Books, Maps, Events
Europe Cell Phones Long Distance Cards Luggage, etc. Travel Insurance Classifieds

* Advertise on Slow Travel | Post your travel questions on the Slow Travel Forums

Copyright © 2000 - 2014 SlowTrav.com, unless noted otherwise. Slow Travel® is a registered trademark. Contact Slow Travel

RSS Feeds - Link to Us - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - IB Cookie Policy - Currency Converter - Colophon - Sponsors - Become a Member
Home | Forums | Slow Travel? | Europe Trip Planning | Photos | Trip Reports | Search | About Us | Classifieds