> SlowTrav > Stories > Pauline's Pages

Summer 1997 - Italy and Switzerland

Pauline and Steve from NM, May 20 to July 30, 1997. Trip to Switzerland and Italy.

Contents

Arrival and Into Italy (Switzerland and Italy)

Two Weeks in Chianti (Tuscany, Italy)

Two Weeks near Cortona (Tuscany, Italy)

One Week on Lake Como (Lombardy, Italy)

One Week in Grindelwald (Berner Oberland, Switzerland)

One Week in Crans-Montana (Valais, Switzerland)

One Week in Zermatt (Valais, Switzerland)

Weekend in Amsterdam (The Netherlands)

Itinerary

Tuesday May 20: Delta Airlines from Albuquerque to Cincinnati to Zurich (Switzerland)

Wednesday May 21: arrived Zurich, 3 nights hotel

Friday May 23: picked up rental car in Zurich

Saturday May 24: drove from Zurich to Locarno, 1 night hotel

Sunday May 25: drove from Locarno to Camaiore (Italy), 3 nights hotel

Wednesday May 28: drove from Camaiore to Spoleto, 3 nights hotel

Saturday May 31: drove from Spoleto to Castellina in Chianti, 2 weeks vacation rental

Saturday June 14: drove from Castellina to Cortona, 2 weeks in vacation rental

Friday June 27: left 1 day early from Cortona, to spend a night on the coast

drove from Cortona to Sestri Levante (Liguria), 1 night hotel

Saturday June 28: drove from Sestri Levante to Menaggio (Lake Como), 7 nights vacation rental

After this point, the only thing booked ahead was our flight back on Wednesday, July 30

Thursday July 3: Because it had been pouring rain all week and the lake was rising to dangerous levels, we decided to leave early and head to Switzerland. Drove from Menaggio to Grindelwald (Switzerland), 9 nights vacation rental

Saturday July 12: drove from Grindelwald to Crans-Montana, 7 nights vacation rental

Saturday July 18: drove from Crans-Montana to Zermatt, 6 nights vacation rental

Friday July 25: drove from Crans-Montana to Zurich, 1 night hotel

Saturday July 26: flew from Zurich to Amsterdam (Holland), 3 nights hotel

Tuesday July 29: flew from Amsterdam to Zurich, 1 night hotel

Wednesday July 30: flew home. Delta Airlines from Zurich to Atlanta to Albuquerque

Back to Top

Car Rental Hotel Booking Flight Booking Train Tickets Books, Maps, Events
Europe Cell Phones Long Distance Cards Luggage, etc. Travel Insurance Classifieds

* Advertise on Slow Travel | Post your travel questions on the Slow Travel Forums

Copyright © 2000 - 2014 SlowTrav.com, unless noted otherwise. Slow Travel® is a registered trademark. Contact Slow Travel

RSS Feeds - Link to Us - Disclaimer - Privacy Policy - Currency Converter - Colophon - Sponsors - Become a Member
Home | Forums | Slow Travel? | Europe Trip Planning | Photos | Trip Reports | Search | About Us | Classifieds